BTB holds 15th National Tourism Award Gala Event

BTB holds 15th National Tourism Award Gala Event


Belize City, Monday, October 23rdth, 2017 – The Belize Tourism Board (BTB) held its highly anticipated 15th National Tourism Awards Gala Event on Saturday, October 21st at the Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel.


The event was well attended with guests coming from all regions of Belize. Distinguished guests included, Hon. Patrick Faber, Deputy Prime Minister, Hon. Manuel Heredia Jr., Minister of Tourism & Civil Aviation, and Mrs. Kim Simplis Barrow, Special Envoy for Women and Children, among others.


The 15th National Tourism Awards was an elegant celebration of the accomplishments made throughout the year by tourism partners and friends. The BTB is honoured to host such a significant event which gives recognition to Belize’s tourism stars in the areas of Frontine Personnel, Hospitality Award, Hotel of the Year, Small Accommodations of the Year, Tour Guide of the Year, Tour Operator of the Year, Restaurant of the Year, the Minister’s Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award. The nominees, through dedication to the industry, have contributed to the quality services offered throughout Belize.

The theme of the night was “Rainforest Meets Reef”, a setting that was most fitting for the tourism stars of Belize, which depicts the diversity of Belize’s tourism product.

This year’s winners are as follows:

Category Winner Property/Area
Frontline Personnel Leroy Welch Las Terrazas Resort
Hospitality Award Ian Anderson’s Caves Branch Hummingbird Highway
Hotel of the Year Grand Caribe San Pedro
Small Accommodation of the Year Caribbean Beach Cabanas Placencia
Tour Guide of the Year Estevan Choco The Lodge at Big Falls
Tour Operator of the Year Toledo Cave  & Adventure Tours Toledo
Restaurant of the Year Rumfish y Vino Placencia


In addition, the Minister’s Award went to Phillip “Billy” Leslie from San Pedro Ambergris Caye while the Lifetime Achievement Award went to John Michael “Mick” Fleming and Lucy Fleming of the Lodge at Chaa Creek.


To view videos of winners please go to:

The BTB would like to congratulate all the winners of the 15th National Tourism Awards as well as all nominees for the excellent work throughout the year!